Committed to Protecting the Rights of Our Clients
Back to Top

Uber & Lyft Accidents in Georgia

Rideshare companies such as Uber and Lyft have become popular means of transportation in Georgia and other states throughout the country. Whether you need a ride back home after a fun night out or a ride to the airport, all you need to do is download an app, request a ride through the app, and wait several minutes until a rideshare driver picks you up. 

However, Uber and Lyft drivers are just as prone to car accidents as other motorists. If you are injured as a passenger in a rideshare vehicle, you are protected by special auto insurance policies. 

In 2015, House Bill 190 and House Bill 225 became law in Georgia. The two bills protect both passengers and drivers, as well as filling in the “gaps” in state law in regard to insurance coverage and occupant safety. 

According to Georgia law, a person can operate a motor vehicle for hire in the state if he/she has a for-hire license endorsement or private background check. In order to receive such an endorsement, a driver must at least be 18 years of age, a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident, hold a Georgia driver’s license, and not have been convicted of a felony, several misdemeanors that demonstrate a “pattern of disregard” for the law, or a crime of “moral turpitude.” 

The following are three types of insurance available in Uber and Lyft accidents in Georgia, depending on what the rideshare driver was doing at the time of the crash: 

  • Not logged into the app – If a rideshare driver is not logged into the app and is liable for a car accident, the driver’s own personal injury policy will cover the damages. The minimum liability coverage in Georgia is $25,000 in injury/death coverage per person, $50,000 in injury/death coverage per accident, and $25,000 in property damage. 

  • Logged into the app but does not have a passenger – If a rideshare driver is logged into the app and does not have a passenger, he/she is technically on duty. In the event of an accident, Uber and Lyft both provide $50,000 in injury/death coverage per person and $100,000 in injury/death coverage per accident. 

  • A passenger is in the vehicle – If a rideshare driver is carrying a passenger and causes a crash, Uber and Lyft provide up to $1 million for accident victims, as well as $1 million in uninsured motorist (UM) coverage. 

On the other hand, if another motorist besides the rideshare driver causes an accident, an injured victim must file a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurer. But no matter who is at fault for the accident, insurance companies will always attempt to reduce or deny valid claims, which is why it is important to hire an experienced personal injury attorney to protect the rights and best interests of injured victims. 

If you have been injured in a car accident in Atlanta or Woodstock, call The Dickinson Law Firm, LLC at (770) 766-7739 or fill out our online contact form today to schedule a free initial consultation! 

Categories